Credit: Minnesota Street Project
Credit: Minnesota Street Project
Credit: Minnesota Street Project

This Year's Award


This Year’s Awardee: Sandra Ono

Sandra Ono received her MFA from Mills College, following undergraduate studies at UC Davis and Imperial College, London.   She has shown her work in exhibitions locally and nationally at venues such as Southern Exposure, Stephen Wirtz Gallery, Incline Gallery, Electric Works, Chandra Cerrito Contemporary, San Jose Institute of Contemporary Art, Transmitter gallery in Brooklyn and in solo shows at Conduit Gallery in Dallas, Texas.   Ono currently serves as visiting faculty lecturer at Mills College and has been awarded artist residencies at Headlands Center for the Arts, University of Texas at Dallas CentralTrak, Kala Art Institute, Southern Exposure and the Vermont Studio Center.

Sandra Ono’s sculptural work is informed by biology and physiology. Her choice of materials and forms arise from interests in the consequences of what we consume, and inversely, what consumes us.  She frequently employs synthetic and ubiquitous, utilitarian products such as plastic bags, re-contextualizing these materials to create non-functioning, organic and corporeal forms which examine experiences of the human body, granting dimension to internal states.

This Year’s Finalists

Erica Deeman
Sarah Lee
Leah Rosenberg
Kate Short

This Year’s Jurors

Catharine Clark (Catharine Clark Gallery)
Hung Liu (Professor Emerita, Mills College)
Stephen Beal (President, California College of the Arts)


Award Details


2016-2017 Award Period

Award Goals

The Award Includes:

Selection Process


Selection Criteria

Selection Process


February 1-5, 2017

Invitations to apply will be emailed

March 15, 2017

Applications are due

April 2017

The jurors will meet to discuss and evaluate the applications

Mid-April 2017

The five finalists will be notified

End of April 2017

Finalists will be interviewed; exact date to depend on the jurors' schedules

Early May 2017

Finalists will be informed of the award recipient

June 1, 2017

The award recipient will be announced